Picture News
News Updates
Location:Home » News » Events
Call for Nominations - TWAS 2013 Prize in Earth Sciences
Author: | Clicks:123123次           | Print | Close | Text Size: A A A

TWAS, the academy of sciences for the developing world ( is an autonomous international organization founded in Trieste, Italy, in 1983. TWAS represents the best of science in the developing world. Among the major objectives of TWAS is to recognize, support and encourage the pursuit of excellence in science in developing countries. Since 1985, this has been achieved through the implementation of a prize scheme that honours scientists living and working in the South. TWAS also supports scientists and institutions in developing countries through a range of programmes that focus on scientific capacity building. 

The administration and financial operation of TWAS is undertaken by UNESCO in accordance with an agreement signed by the two organizations.

TWAS Prizes 2013

The “TWAS Prizes” are awarded to individual scientists from developing countries in recognition of an outstanding contribution to knowledge in eight fields of science.


♦  Every year, TWAS awards eight prizes of US$15,000 each in the following fields: agricultural sciences, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering sciences, mathematics, medical sciences and physics.

♦  Each prize is accompanied by a medal.

♦  Prizes are usually presented on a special occasion, often coinciding with the General Meeting of TWAS.



♦  Candidates for a TWAS Prize must be scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least ten years immediately prior to their nomination.

♦  Candidates for a TWAS Prize must meet at least one of the following qualifications:

- Scientific research achievement of outstanding significance for the development of scientific thought;

- Outstanding contribution to the application of Science and Technology to industry or to human well-being in a developing country.

♦  Members of TWAS and candidates for TWAS membership are not eligible for the prizes.

♦  Self nominations will not be considered.



♦  TWAS is inviting nominations from all its members as well as science academies, national research councils, universities and scientific institutions in developing and developed countries.

♦  Nominations should be made on the relevant nomination form (which can be downloaded from > Programmes > Prizes). The nomination must clearly state the single contribution the candidate has made to the development of the particular field of science for which the prize would be awarded, and should be accompanied by the nominee's C.V. and complete list of publications.

♦  The re-nomination of a previously declined candidate shall be accepted only if it bears substantially new elements for judgment.

♦  Nominations of women scientists are particularly encouraged.

♦  Nominations for the 2013 prizes must be received by the TWAS Secretariat no later than 28 February 2013.



♦  Selection of the awardees is made on scientific merit. The outstanding contribution of a candidate may be defined in relation to existing opportunities and realistic possibilities available to her/him. This applies particularly to candidates from scientifically disadvantaged countries. Nominations in each field will be evaluated by a specialist committee of TWAS Members.



Inquiries and nominations should be addressed to:

TWAS Prizes

TWAS, the academy of sciences for the developing world

ICTP campus - Strada Costiera, 11, 34151 Trieste, Italy.

Tel: +39 040 2240387, Fax: +39 040 22407387, E-mail:
Center for Earth Observation and Digital Earth,Chinese Academy of Sciences
No.9 Dengzhuang South Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100094, China Tel:86-10-82178008 Fax:86-10-82178009